The community

Our contribution to the community

Human behaviour has always a motivation

Equal rights

Forcing others to adapt your ‘charitable’ ideas is different than allowing an open minded dialogue.

It often seems that westerners are quite convinced of their ideals global primacy. This involves not only cultural values, but also scientific, socio-economic and technnical strategies. Through our financial assets, highly developed infrastructures and modern marketing techniques, others are more affected than we imagine. But local conditions and needs of other global regions might completely differ from ours. So Himapan does not aim to make it a matter of evangelising others with it’s good message than rather tries to listen, understand, speak and find solutions together.

The core

is the adjustment of human-natural community to the conditions by utilizing existing possibilities

To make the right choices at spot together with all that are involved is not always easy but can be very rewarding: Achieving goals together gives the whole group a great feeling of accomplishment and unites even more.

You yourself can create unity in order to follow small or big goals with some of the people living around you. It doesn’t matter if it is your family, friends, colleagues or company staff where you buy. All that counts is bringing yourself in.

And even if not being a big socialiser, the smallest step into creating the society you want to live in, is to think thoroughly next time before buying.

What are we trained looking for?

Usually, people by where the value for money is best - We tend to buy where healthy, independent structures are developed. In the long run, this is reflected in the products quality.

The urge to focus on economising is popular among companies and customers, but by design it can not provide satisfaction and redistribution. Rather one is always getting the short end of the stick. Especially, when hard work falls to low-income earners and the main profit goes to owners and executives. Of course, this tends to affect the product quality over time and that is counterbalanced by increasing the sophistication and diffusion of commercials

Himapans contribution to society

Strengthening civil society is very important for us is, that the family live to us. That is why we prefer to connect with everyday people than secluding with the regional elite on quite numerous events.

In Thailand

Weekly markets
Photo: On the weekly market in Kau Hua Chang, Khanom

We strongly ecourage farmers and families to continue selling on weekly markets with simple products, because the markets are a keystone to the community creating independence and even for the poorest families a barriere-low possibility of income.

We don’t wont businesses and farms to disappear with their products into Shopping Malls and Supermarkets where poor families are excluded and financial background or depth with high interest rates ist necessary to join.

Also, weekly markets are a place of freedom, in most cases surrounded by nature, where anyone and any publicly accepted activity is welcomed.

Near-natural agriculture
Photo of Nang and Mae with a fresh pine apple from the garden

Concerning agriculture, we try to set a good example and use every opportunity to show others our approach to eco-friendly farming.

With natural and simple methods we focus on richer soil and more security through biodiversity. Important for us is, that family life and a relaxed and appreciating atmosphere is in the centre.

Workshops
Foto von einem Presentation about social and environmental effects of todays profitoriented economy

Free workshops and presentation to topics like ecology, civil society and economy are a main part of our concept.

Also, we want to present an alternate picture of the “successful” west and with that other beneficial ideas than the usual economisation and mechanisation do exist.

Here, we also work together with the Learning Institute For Everyone, visit projects in northern Thailand, exchange knowledge and do presentations.

Charity
Photo of our donation to the Hutadin Elephant foundation

Casually, we do charity. For example in January 2016, we funded 1 Euro of every litre coconut oil sold to the Hutadin Elephant foundation.

Institutions or people we donate to don’t need to be perfect. Rather we are looking for the strive to improve and try to create a new impulse than just providing money. We try to be a dialogue-partner that supports independence and discerning thinking

In charity, we see the potential for confirming dominions. On the one hand for the donators, that can confidentially live on without need for change after donating and on the other hand for the receivers that increasingly depend on others will to give.

Passing on knowledge and experience
A screenshot of the open-source code of our website.

We share knowledge of all our areas of activity with partners, community and interested people. We integrate Free Cultural Works and Free Cultural Works wherever possible. That is why we also publish our standards, to allow others to improve their quality and that others can show us flaws we didn’t notice.

Restrictive copyright is only implemented where non-interchangeability of our brand is required so that customers can be sure to get the quality they expect from our brand. Concerning knowledge and property, we prefer to choose the appropriate licenses, for example Creative Commons.

In Europe

The exchange circle “Talenteverbund” in Vienna
Photo of one smaller organising Team meeting in Vienna

Company’s founder Philipp Montazem is an active member of the “Tauschkreis Wien” a goods exchange community in Vienna, now part of the Talenteverbund. Philipp not only is an active organising member of this community but also tries to integrate Himapan’s offers and experience where it fits. For example, members of the community can exchange a part of Himapan’s product prices for goods, of course in alignment to the local tax laws.

Furthermore, we support centralised buying form other exchange communities and food-coops with discounts and better delivery conditions.

The refugees table on the Badeschiff Wien
Photo of the Refugees table on the Badeschiff Wien.

Being a former refugee himself, Philipp Montazem hosted a ‘Refugee table’ every sunday in Summer 2016, including an organic-food breakfast buffet.

The purpose was to show guests on the Badeschiff Wien, a large boat at the Donau banks featuring an outdoor swimming pool, aspects of global complexity and Himapan’s approach to it. But actually, we tried to adress the refugees that were involved in some activities on the boat: That taking part in the public process while creating stability and income for the family can be simple, multinational amd doesn’t neccesarily require expensive resources.

Common Good Economy

2017 we made our first Common Good Balance Sheet after the Economy for the Common Good. The groundwork for it was done in 2016 together with a student doing her final thesis on Common Good practices in our company. We helped her to get a clear insight into Himapan’s workflow and supported her in regular meetings together with the PerspektivATELIER and a representant of the Sociocracy Group. With minor changes her final thesis served as the set up for our Common Good Balance Sheet

Accessibility-awareness for socially, physically or mentally challenged people

On Viennas public markets, people asking for money are encountered regularly. Instead of handing out money, we always support them with food or other commodities. The reason is, that we do not want to strengthen financial interlockings with begging-business as a part of organised criminality which has reached a high level of saturation in most European larger cities and is trying to take advantage of the poor and homeless people that can not easily evade.

We support people living under special physical and mental conditions and don’t like to use the term disabled or beggar because we want to help developing skills rather then reminding of hindrances.

We tried very hard to make our website as convenient as possible for deaf and blind people by avoiding audio-only content and implementing hierarchically structured text descriptions wherever possible.

On markets, we take our time for everyone that visits us. Buying or not, likeable or annoying doesn’t matter. Groups of children, for example from kindergarden are our preferred guests. When visitors are deaf or blind, we provide writing tools for communication and the option to touch, smell and taste whatever is suited for that (Yes, our coconut oil is perfectly suited!). And people that are not able to behave according to social standards because of their mental state and are welcomed. No need to be shy or overrestrictive! As long as it bears no harm to anyone, public etiquette might need a little stirring from time to time as well, to see that it is about people’s needs and not about formalities.

Request More Information

For more information, fill in and submit the following form. You can write in any message you'd like, and put a tick in the checkboxes provided for your convenience.

Die Gemeinschaft

Der soziale Beitrag Himapans

Menschliches Handeln hat immer eine Motivation

Gleiche Augenhöhe

Anderen wohltätig seine Ideen aufzuerlegen ist einfacher als echten Dialog zu pflegen

Unser Kulturkreis ist von seinen Idealen Überzeugt. Nicht nur von seiner Kultur, sondern auch von Wissenschaft, Technik und Wirtschaft. Durch Kapital, hochentwickelte Infrastrukturen und modernes Marketing werden andere Erdgebiete tiefer beeinflusst, als wir es uns bewußt sind. Doch die Bedürfnisse und Gegebenheiten anderer Menschen und Regionen können sich stark von den eigenen Unterscheiden. Es gilt nicht sich durchzusetzen, sondern zuzuhören, zu reden und gemeinsam Lösungen zu finden.

Im Zentrum…

steht die Gestaltung des Zusammenlebens mit Mensch und Natur durch gegebene Mittel

Vor Ort mit allen Beteiligten gemeinsam die richtigen Mittel wählen ist aufwendig und nicht immer einfach, doch es lohnt sich: Was kann schöner sein, als vereint Ziele zu erreichen. Auch du selbst nimmst Einfluss auf Deine Umgebung, wenn Du mit Familie, Freunden, Firma, Vereinen oder Gemeinden in Kontakt trittst und Dich mit dem, wofür Du Dich entschieden hast konstruktiv einbringst. Alleine schon eine wohlüberlegte Kaufentscheidung zu treffen zählt schon dazu.

Fundament

Meist wird dort, wo das Preisleistungsverhältnis am besten ist Eingekauft - Wir kaufen lieber, wo gesunde und eigene Strukturen entwickelt werden. Die Qualität spiegelt das langfristig wieder.

Die bei Firmen und Kunden verbreitete Sparmentalität kann aus der Grundidee selbst heraus nicht für Zufriedenheit und Gleichverteilung sorgen. Denn irgendjemand zahlt immer drauf. Besonders dann, wenn die Arbeit Geringverdienenden obliegt und der Hauptgewinn der Unternehmensleitung zufließt. All das wirkt sich natürlich auch auf die Produktqualität aus und benötigt zum Ausgleich ein immer ausgefeilteres und durchdringenderes Marketing.

Himapan Beitrag zur Gesellschaft

Uns liegt die Stärkung der Ziviligesellschaft besonders am Herzen. Daher sind wir vorzugsweise an der Basis der Bevölkerung aktiv, anstatt uns mit der regionalen Elite auf den zahlreichen Veranstaltungen treffen.

In Thailand

Wochenmärkte
Foto des Wochenmarktes in Khanom

Wir fördern den Besuch der Wochenmärkte von Farmern und Familien mit einfachen Produkten, weil der Markt dort ein wichtiger Teil des Zusammenlebens ist, die Unabhängigkeit fördert und selbst völlig unbedarften einfachste Verdienstmöglichkeiten bietet.

Wir möchten nicht, dass alles in Shopping Malls und Supermärkten verschwindet, wo nur noch richtige Firmen hinliefern können und hohe Investitionen mit Krediten nötig sind. Außerdem sind die Märkte meist von Natur umgeben, was von den Malls nicht gerade behauptet werden kann.

Naturnahe Landwirtschaft
Foto von Nang und Mae mit einer frischen Ananas

Wir versuchen im Landbau mit gutem Beispiel vorranzugehen und nutzen jede Gelegenheit, um anderen ökologisch verträglicheren Landbau nahezubringen.

Mit natürlichen und einfachen Mitteln verfolgen wir das Ziel reichere Böden und mehr Sicherheit durch Vielfalt aufzubauen. Dabei soll die ganze Familie als Akteur im Mittelpunkt stehen in einer entspannten und wertschätzenden Atmosphäre.

Workshops
Foto von einem Vortrag zu ökologischen und sozialen Folgen ökonomisch orientierter Markt- und Landwirtschaft

Freie Kurse und Vorträge zu Themen, wie Ökologie, soziales und Wirtschaft sind uns besonders wichtig.

Wir wollen damit unter anderem auch ein anderes Bild vom meist als so “erfolreich” angesehenen Westen vermitteln. Dass es auch noch andere Ansätze gibt als Rationalisierung, Technisierung und Ökonomisierung.

Hier arbeiten wir auch mit dem Learning Institute For Everyone, besuchen Projekte in Nordthailand, tauschen Wissen aus und halten dort Vorträge.

Spendenaktionen
Foto von einer Spendenaktion an die Hutadin Elephant Foundation

Gelegentlich führen wir auch Spendenaktionen durch. Zum Beispiel wurde im Jänner 2016 eine Aktion gemacht, in der für jeden Liter verkauften Kokosöls 1 Euro für die Hutadin Elephant Foundation gespendet wurde.

Einrichtungen für die wir spenden, müssen nicht perfekt im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes sein, sondern für uns erkennbar einen guten Willen zeigen. Wir versuchen Anregungen zu geben und uns nicht nur mit Geld einzubringen, sondern auch ein Dialogpartner mit einer eigenen Meinung zu sein, der zu Unabhängigkeit und kritischem Denken anregt.

Denn wir sehen in vielen Charity-Aktionen die Gefahr, dass sie eher Verhältnisse festigen als aufbrechen. Sowohl bei den Spendern, die danach mit ruhigem Gewissen unverändert weiterleben können, als auch bei den Empfängern, die sich zunehmend auf die Hilfsbereitschaft anderer verlassen.

Weitergabe von Wissen und Erfahrung
Foto eines Ausschnittes des Opensource-Codes unserer Webseite.

Wir teilen unser Wissen aus allen Unternehmensbereichen mit Partnern, der Community und interessierten. Wir arbeiten mit Opensource und Elementen aus Free Cultural Works beziehungsweise Open Knowldge Foundation und versuchen zur Community beizutragen. Deswegen veröffentlichen wir zum Beispiel auch unsere Standards, um anderen zu ermöglichen ihre Qualität zu verbessern oder uns auf mögliche Verbesserungen hinzuweisen.

Restriktive Copyrights kommen nur dort zum Einsatz wo sie die Qualität und unverwechselbarkeit unserer Marke sichern sollen. Wo es um Wissen und Besitz geht wenden wir die jeweils für öffentliche Weitergabe geeigneten Lizenzen wie zum Beispiel Creative Commons an.

In Europa

Talenteverbund Wien
Foto einer Kernteamsitzung des Tauschkreises Wien

Firmengründer Philipp Montazem ist aktives Mitglied im Tauschkreis Wien, jetzt Teil des Talenteverbunds und engagiert sich nicht nur selbst für diese Form der Nachbarschaftshilfe, sondern bringt auch die Erfahrung und Angebote von Himapan soweit passend und möglich ein. Zum Beispiel können Tauschkreismitglieder zu einem Anteil sich unser Kokosöl eintauschen (Natürlich versteuert Himapan selber den vollen Preis).

Auch bekommen Sammelbestellungen anderer Tauschkreise oder Food-Coops ein besonderes Entgegenkommen bei zum Beispiel Preisgestaltung oder Lieferung.

Flüchtlingstisch auf dem Badeschiff Wien
Foto des Flüchtlingstisches auf dem Badeschiff.

Selbst einst als Flüchtling aus dem Iran kommend, hat Philipp Montazem auf dem Badeschiff Wien im Sommer 2016 den “Flüchtlingsstand” betreut, der jeden Sonntag ein kleines Bio-Frühstücksbuffet beinhaltete.

Ziel war es zum einen, Bootsgästen unsere Perspektive zu globalen Zusammenhängen und Himapans Ansatz dazu aufzuzeigen, und zum anderen den dort teilweise in verschiedenen Aktivitäten betreuten Flüchtlingen zu zeigen, dass schon mit einfachsten Mitteln eine eigene Existenz und eine Teilnahme an der Gesellschaft möglich ist.

Gemeinwohlökonomie

2017 haben wir unseren ersten Gemeinwohlbericht nach den Bewertungskriterien der GWÖ geschrieben. Die Vorarbeit dazu geschah 2016 im Rahmen der Maturaarbeit einer Schülerin, die von uns einen umfassenden Einblick in das Unternehmen bekam und zusammen in gemeinsamen Sitzungen mit dem PerspektivATELIER und einer Vertreterin des Soziokratiezentrums betreut wurde. Nach Überarbeitung diente die Fassung der Schülerin als Grundlage für unseren Bericht.

Förderung Bedürftiger und Menschen mit besonderen körperlichen Konditionen

Natürlich versuchen wir bestimmte Personengruppen zu fördern, wo es geht. Den auf den Wiener Märkten häufiger um Spenden bittenden geben wir in den meisten Fällen kein Geld, sondern unterstützen sie immer direkt in Form von Essen oder Gebrauchsgegenständen, da wir die Verflechtungen mit Syndikaten, die nicht selten hinter dem professionellen Bettelbetrieb stehen nicht stärken wollen.

Wir verwenden das Wort “Behindert” nicht gerne, da wir auf Menschen mit besonderen körperlichen Voraussetzungen mehr mit Blick auf die offenen Möglichkeiten zugehen wollen.

Das versuchen wir auch in der Firma: Die Webseite ist auf die Bedürfnisse von Gehörlosen und so gut wie möglich auf Blinde abgestimmt .

Auch die Verkaufsstände auf dem Markt führen wir möglichst Barrierefrei und allen Kunden versuchen wir die gleiche Zeit und Aufmerksamkeit entgegenzubringen.

So halten wir Schreibmöglichkeiten zur Verständigung mit Gehörlosen bereit und Blinde können, wie alle anderen auch, unser Kokosöl in den eigenen Händen testen, probieren, riechen und mit ihren Händen unseren Stand samt Ware sehen.

Mehr Informationen anfordern

Mit dem Kontaktformular kannst Du uns Benachrichtigen - einfach ausfüllen und abschicken. Wir freuen uns auf Deine Nachricht, ganz gleich, ob Du Wünsche, Beschwerden, Fragen, Anregungen hast oder mit uns Zusammenarbeiten willst. Die Checkboxen sind optional und nur zur Unterstützung da.